Ottawa, ON, Canada
613-733-2662 ext 733


2018 CMS Winter Meeting, Vancouver, BC, December 7-10

Created with Sketch.

 The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMSinvites the mathematical community to the 2018 CMS Winter Meeting in Vancouver, British Columbia from December 7-10. All meeting activities are taking place at the Sheraton, Vancouver Wall Centre (1088 Burrard St, Vancouver, BC V6Z 2R9). Four days of awards, prize lectures, plenary speakers, and scientific sessions. Click here to visit Tourism Vancouver’s CMS Site. 

Registration Open Onsite

Registration will now be available onsite beginning on Friday December 7th. 

Winter Meeting Program

 For abstracts of talks and all details of the meeting, click here.

Reserve Now!

Experience the captivating charm and vibrant energy of the West Coast at the Sutton Place Hotel. Ideally situated in the heart of downtown. Events will take place at the Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre.

Student Social

The CMS Student Committee invites all student participants at the 2018 CMS Winter Meeting to its Student Social.

Saturday December 8, 2018 20:00- late

The Social will take place at 8 PM the New India Buffet Bar and Restaurant (901 W Broadway, Vancouver, BC V5Z 4M3), followed by an optional battle of wits against a mini escape room. A subway runs between the restaurant and the Sheraton; each trip will cost $2.25.

If you’d like help getting to the location, meet Lara outside the registration (Junior Ballroom C) of the Sheraton at 7:25 PM to take the subway together. Hope to see you there!

Public Lecture


Plenary Lectures

Laura DeMarco

NorthWestern University

Henry Fowler

Navajo Technical University

Florian Herzig

University of Toronto

Anita Layton

University of waterloo

Yaniv Plan

University of British Columbia

Prize Lectures



Thomas Hutchcroft

Cambridge University
Doctoral Prize

Maksym Radziwill

McGill University
Coxeter James Prize

Anthony To-Ming Lau

University of Alberta
David Borwein Distinguished Career

Scientific Directors

Malabika Pramanik

University of british columbia

Scientific Organizing Committee